Dynamics of Text Corpora and Image Programs

Representations of Buddhist Narratives along the Silk Route

The network of long distance trade routes through Central Asia designated by Ferdinand von Richthofen as "Silk Road" have provided the settings of religious transfer and reception processes of unprecedented historical importance. Accordingly, textual and pictorial finds (mainly Buddhist and Manichaean materials) have been subject to numerous studies. The associated dynamics of religious change and the underlying complex interactions between different media, however, remain far from having been exhaustively researched.

Based on Buddhist textual and visual representations of narratives about the different lives of the Buddha (especially avadānas and jātakas) from Gandhara, Bamiyan, Khotan , Kucha, Turfan and Dunhuang dating from the 3rd to 10th  century, case studies will trace the importance of the interaction of text corpora and image programs in religious contact. In this effort, both the inner logics of these transfer processes and their conditions within as well as repercussions upon the religious field and other social contexts will be taken into account.

Duration

2010 - 2012

Funded by

Affiliated Persons

image of Prof. Dr. Volkhard Krech

Prof. Dr. Volkhard Krech

Project Leader

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
Office 3.12
+49 234 32-22395
volkhard.krech@rub.de
JP

Prof. Dr. Jörg Plassen

Project Leader

Universitätsstr. 134
44801  Bochum
Office AKAFÖ Haus, 2/23
+49 234 32-22316
joerg.plassen@rub.de
SB

Prof. Dr. Sven Bretfeld

Further Applicant

RH

Prof. Dr. Richard Hoppe-Sailer

Further Applicant

Universitätsstraße 150
44801  Bochum
Office GA 4/151
+49 234 32-24671
richard.hoppe-sailer@rub.de
UR

Prof. Dr. Ulrich Rehm

Further Applicant

Universitätsstraße 150
44801  Bochum
Office GA 03/150
+49 234 32-27930
ulrich.rehm@rub.de
LS

Prof. Dr. Linda Simonis

Further Applicant

Office GB 3/162
+49 234 32-28564
Linda.simonis@rub.de
CA

Dr. Christoph Anderl

Research Associate

christoph.anderl@rub.de
image of Jun.-Prof. Dr. Jessie Pons

Jun.-Prof. Dr. Jessie Pons

Research Associate

Universitätsstr. 90a
44789  Bochum
Office 1.04
+49 234 32-22955
jessie.pons@rub.de
JN

Dr. Jason Neelis

Cooperation Partner

jneelis@wlu.ca